By Kevin Neal


Cooler weather descended on Huntsville Speedway Saturday night as the Late Model division returned to action and the Super Stocks were a featured event, competing in a special 30 lap event.


In qualifying, Billy Melvin (13.810) in the Late Models, John Thomas (13.933) in Open Wheel Modified, and Brad Malone (15.461) in the Super Stock captured the Fast Time Qualifying Awards.


Fast time qualifier Billy Melvin rolled a one on the inversion starting the field straight up for the 50 lap feature.

Melvin was flanked by Johnny Brazier on the front row and was able to get a great start at the drop of the green flag to take the lead. Melvin would pace the field until the halfway point, when on a restart, Brazier would beat Melvin to the punch claiming the lead. Melvin would get back to Brazier’s rear bumper, but was unable to reclaim the point. A bit of a tense moment occurred when Brian Bentley’s machine, which was super fast early in the race, challenging Brazier for second at one point, caught fire under the hood at lap 27. Track Pro Safety Team was on the scene within 8 seconds to extinguish the blaze, but Bentley’s evening was abbreviated. Johnny Brazier would hang on to the lead for the remainder of the race to capture the checkered flag. Billy Melvin, Austin Aker, Ty Roberts, and Bobby Castleberry would round out the top five.


Troy Gray and John Thomas competed in a 12 lap exhibition race to give the crowd some open wheel action while other competitors work to get their rides back in racing order. Bradley Carter was unable to start due to a broken transmission. Troy Gray picked up the “W” in the exhibition.


The Super Stock division took centerstage on Saturday night in a special 30 lap event. Junior Jordan started on the pole after Fast Time Qualifier Brad Malone rolled a three on the inversion. The lineup placed the number 2 car of Butch Rogers on the outside pole, but Rogers notified track officials before the pace laps that he wished to start on the rear due to an ill handling car. This moved the number 15 of Malone to the outside front row, due to the fact that the number 19 of Austin Evans was victorious in his last outing at the speedway, so he could not advance to the front row. Malone and Jordan battled tooth and nail as expected from the drop of the green flag. As the handling on Jordan’s machine seemed to fade, David Dean, Jr. charged from the tail of the field to move to the runner-up spot. Dean, Jr. would challenge for the top spot but fell short as Malone was able to hold on to take the win.


Shane Jones was able to pick up his second Pro Buzz victory of the season in his Steam Master Carpet Cleaning/Lowery’s Tactical Firearms number 192, followed by Courtney Gibbs, making her return to the division after a hard collision in turn 1 destroyed her car a little over a month ago. Gibbs arrived at the track just moments before the Buzz race and was given three laps by track officials to double check her brakes on the new car. Floyd Brown and Mathew Robbins rounded out the field.


Allen Gunter started on the pole in the 15 lap Hot Shot feature alongside the number 43 car of Garrett Loyd, a Talledega Short Track regular making his first start on asphalt. Loyd led briefly before being overtaken by Josh McElhone and Jeremy Price who would do battle once again for the win, with McElhone capturing another victory in the division.

Huntsville Speedway will return to action next Saturday night with races featuring the STAR SuperTrucks, Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Super Stock, Baby Grands, Mini Modifieds, Pro Buzz, Buzz, and Hot Shot divisions. Pit gates will open at 2PM with practice starting at 3PM, followed by driver’s meeting at 5:30PM, qualifying at 6PM, and racing at 7PM.


Late Model:

  1. 71 – Johnny Brazier
  2. 145 – Billy Melvin
  3. 07 – Austin Aker
  4. 50 – Ty Roberts
  5. 14 – Bobby Castleberry
  6. 59 – Rocky Rogers
  7. 72 – Ron Evans
  8. 9 – Brian Bentley

Open Wheel Modified:

  1. 74 – Troy Gray
  2. 47 – John Thomas
  3. 23 – Bradley Carter (DNS)

Super Stock Division:

  1. 15 – Bradley Malone
  2. 21 – David Dean, Jr.
  3. 19 – Austin Evans
  4. 29 – Junior Jordan
  5. 2 – Butch Rogers
  6. 98 – Todd Cagle (DNS)

Pro Buzz Division:

  1. 192 – Shane Jones
  2. 99 – Courtney Gibbs
  3. 84 – Floyd Brown
  4. 48 – Matthew Robbins

Hot Shot Division:

  1. 01 – Josh McElhone
  2. 00 – Jeremy Price
  3. 43 – Garrett Loyd
  4. 15 – Allen Gunter
  5. 51 – Tommy Rigsby