Chase Oliver Victorious in the Open Wheel Modifieds

By Kevin Neal

The anticipated move to night racing took place this Saturday night at Huntsville Speedway as the track returned to action after the prior week’s action was cancelled due to Mother Nature.

Johnny Brazier of Lick Skillet, Alabama, made his return to Late Model racing  Saturday night, claiming the win in the 50 lap feature. Brazier, who was also the fast time qualifier, started fourth on the field leaving Brian Bentley and Jaxon Bishop to resume the duel they had during the last race. Bishop and Bentley would collide entering turn 3 at lap 7 ending both competitors night, leaving Brazier to compete with veteran Bill Melvin debuting his new late model machine. Melvin looked strong, even dueling side by side with early race leader Brian Bentley on the outside, but would eventually tangle with T.W. Fisher, causing Melvin to lose much of the rear body work on his new machine and impairing the handling on the number 59. T.W.

Fisher would make a run at Brazier late in the race but eventually fell into the clutches of a hard charging Bobby Castleberry. Fisher would fend off  Castleberry’s challenge to hang on to the runner-up spot behind Johnny Brazier, followed by Castleberry, Bill Melvin, and Jeremy Price.

The Open Wheel Modified 30 lap feature was won by Chase Oliver, followed  by John Thomas, and Garrett Finley.

The Baby Grands made their first appearance of the season at Huntsville, with Chris Willis capturing the pole and eventually the race win in their 25 lap feature, followed by Joe McCloud, Tim Vinsant, Justin Shanes, and Ronnie Binkley rounding out the top five.

In the Super Stock division, David Dean, Jr. continued his winning ways, taking the victory over Caleb Thornberry who showed much improvement in his new car, Guile Hornbuckle, and Butch Rogers.

The 20 lap Mini Modified feature saw Jeremy Davis capture another win previous feature winner Doug Emerson hot on his heels at the finish. Tommy Robinette, Kevin Harrison, and Charlie McKee, Jerry Mills, the returning Mark Sabin, and Eddie Dodd rounded out the field.

Matthew Robbins and Floyd Brown once again put their Acuras at the front of the field in the 15 lap Buzz feature, besting Brandon Thornton, Michael Neely, Courtney Gibbs, Shane Jones, and Austin Thornton. Johnny Newman beat Dakoda Emerson in the Amateur Buzz portion of the race.

Josh Mac captured his second win of the season in the Hot Shot division that saw him locked once again in a tight battle with Joshua Rose. Paul Frazier, Allen Gunter, and Tommy Rigsby rounded out the top five finishers.

Huntsville Speedway will return to action next Saturday night with races featuring the STAR SuperTrucks, Sportsman, Tennessee Pure Stocks, Super Stock, Mini Modifieds, Pro Buzz, Buzz, and Hot Shot divisions. Pit gates will open at 2PM with practice starting at 3PM, followed by driver’s meeting at 5:30PM, qualifying at 6PM, and racing at 7PM.

Late Model:

1. 71 – Johnny Brazier

2. 61 – T.W. Fisher

3. 14 – Bobby Castleberry

4. 59 – Bill Melvin

5. 00 – Jeremy Price

6. 81 – Joseph Dodd

7. 9 – Brian Bentley

8. 2 – Jaxon Bishop

9. 75 – Cameron Berry

10. 24 – Keith Rankin (DNS)

Open Wheel Modified:

1. 5 – Chase Oliver

2. 47 – John Thomas

3. 37 – Garrett Finley

Baby Grands:

1. Chris Willis

2. Joe McCloud

3. 14 – Tim Vinsant

4. 24 – Justin Shanes

5. 25 – Ronnie Binkley

6. 00 – Tim Gresham

7. Mark Cole (DNS)

Super Stock Division:

1. 21 – David Dean, Jr.

2. 14 – Caleb Thornberry

3. 27 – Guile Hornbuckle

4. 72 – Butch Rogers

5. 98 – Todd Cagle (DNS)

Mini Modified Division:

1. 85 – Jeremy Davis

2. 5 – Doug Emerson

3. 9 – Tommy Robinette

4. 31 – Kevin Harrison

5. 121 – Charles McKee

6. 61 – Jerry Mills

7. 11 – Mark Sabin

8. 81 – Eddie Dodd

Buzz Division:

1. 48 – Matthew Robbins

2. 84 – Floyd Brown

3. 1 – Brandon Thornton

4. 92 – Michael Neely

5. 99 – Courtney Gibbs

6. 192 – Shane Jones

7. 16 – Austin Thornton

8. J11 – Johnny Newman (Amateur)

9. 41 – Dakoda Emerson (Amateur)

Hot Shot Division:

1. 01 – Josh Mac

2. 71 – Joshua Rose

3. 13 – Paul Frazier

4. 15 – Allen Gunter

5. 45 – Tommy Rigsby