Parker Henegar Has Breakthrough Win in STAR SuperTruck Division; Henry Wade Victorious in Sportsman Division; Matt Adams Is the Winner in Tennessee Pure Stocks
By Kevin Neal

After what seemed an endless stream of rainouts, the STAR SuperTrucks, Sportsman, and Tennessee Pure Stock divisions saw their first action of the season at Huntsville Speedway Saturday night.

In qualifying for the STAR SuperTrucks, Pure Stock, and Sportsman, Parker Henegar (14.553) in

STAR SuperTrucks, Matt Adams (16.059) in the Pure Stock, and Henry Wade (14.811) in

Sportsman turned in the fastest times of the night.

In the SuperTruck division, fast qualifier Parker Henegar drew the three on the inversion putting

the number 85 of Wesley Davis on the pole alongside the new number 5 truck of Jacob

Stephens, a previous race winner from last season. Wesley Davis captured the lead of the race

from the drop of the green flag and seemed destined for victory lane, until lap 49 of the 50 lap

feature. Parker Henegar, a long time campaigner in the STAR SuperTrucks seized an opening to

move to the inside of Davis off of turn two and the two battled side by side back to the

start/finish line with Henegar edging Davis by half a truck length at the line to capture his first

victory. Michael Neely, in a brand new Bama Parts truck, battled for the lead after taking

advantage of the cone on a restart, but was relegated back in the field when he could not find

an opening on the bottom. Outside pole sitter Jacob Stephens looked very strong in the early

going, but lost his right front quarter panel while battling for the top spot and was forced to

retire with mechanical issues after 37 laps. Cameron Berry also had to retire early with

mechanical woes after completing 11 laps. Bryce Carver, making his first start after moving up

from Quarter Midgets, brought his Window World truck home in 6 th position on the lead lap.

In the 30 lap Sportsman feature, Henry Wade rolled a 1 on the inversion and started on the

pole alongside the number 6 car of last year’s Late Model Track Champion Alan Callaway. Eddie

Gibbs had a fast Buster’s Pawn Shop machine in practice, but was unable to complete the race

after his brakes locked up during hot laps, sending him careening into the turn 3 wall. In the

event, Henry Wade was not to be denied as he set sail on the competition leaving Alan Callaway

and Byron Westbrooks to battle for second with Johnathan Campbell in hot pursuit. David

Dean, Jr. made the inaugural start for the brand new Junior Jordan Sportsman car, but had to

bring the car to the pits after completing 8 laps.

The Tennessee Pure Stocks, now a regular division at Huntsville Speedway in the 2017 season,

were short on vehicles but still offered good competition with Matt Adams and Jason Plunkett,

Jr. battling for the win, while Jerry Hendrixson, Jr. and Jason Plunkett, Sr. battled ill performing

cars for the balance of the race. Matt Adams would emerge victorious in the 20 lap feature.

In the Mini Modified division, Kevin Harrison and Jerry Mills started on the front row for their

20 lap affair. It wouldn’t take long for Tommy Robinette and Jason Loveday, driving in relief of

Charles McKee who welcomed his baby boy A.J. to the world this week, made their way to the

front. The two battled for the top spot before Loveday fell into the clutches of Jerry Mills. Mills

and Loveday would tangle on the frontstretch causing damage to the number 121 Buster’s

Pawn Shop car and forcing him to the pits after 12 laps. Jeremy Davis, who has been on a hot

streak this season, gave Robinette all the competition he could handle, even nudging his back

bumper before Robinette would take the win.

The Pro Buzz 15 lap feature was high on action as Floyd Brown and Austin Thornton brought

the field to green. Thornton would fall back through the field, but another Thornton, Brandon,

driving the number 92 Bama Parts car, piloted by Michael Neely earlier this season, charged to

the front to challenge Brown for the win. Brown and Thornton would put on a clinic with

Thornton challenging Brown to the inside and outside for the lead in an epic but clean battle.

Brown would hang on for the win, followed by Brandon Thornton, Shane Jones, Austin

Thornton, and Matthew Robbins, who had to retire after 2 laps.

In the 20 lap Super Stock feature, Junior Jordan and Butch Rogers lead the field to the green but

Rogers would fall off the pace and retire after 3 laps. David Dean, Jr. made his way to challenge

Jordan for the lead which he would take and not relinquish. Guile Hornbuckle would make the

best run at Dean with the two battling for the top spot right up to the checkered flag. Caleb

Thornberry had to retire from the race 3 laps shy of the finish after experiencing steering issues.

In the 15 lap Hot Shot feature, Tommy Rigsby and Allen Gunter led the field to green, but

previous race winner Joshua Rose was most unfortunate on the initial start of the race, and he

crashed before a lap was complete and was unable to return to the race. Gunter was also

forced to the pits after 4 laps, along with Paul Frazier, leaving Josh Mac at the point with

Tommy Rigsby engaged in a tight battle with Jamie Bradford. Josh Mac would hang on for the

win, followed by Rigsby and Bradford.

Huntsville Speedway will return to action next Saturday night with the Late Models, Open

Wheel Modifieds, Super Stock, Mini Modifieds, Buzz and Pro Buzz, and Hot Shot divisions. The

Pit gates will open at 3PM, front gates at 4PM, with qualifying beginning at 6PM and the first

green flag of the evening flying at 7PM.

STAR Supertruck Division:

1. 35 – Parker Henegar

2. 85 – Wesley Davis

3. 62 – Jody Anderson

4. 1 – Jeremy Owens

5. 92 – Michael Neely

6. 189 – Bryce Carver

7. 5 – Jacob Stephens

8. 75 – Cameron Berry

Sportsman Division:

1. 60 – Henry Wade

2. 5 – Byron Westbrooks

3. 6 – Alan Callaway

4. 316 – Johnathan Campbell

5. 21 – David Dean, Jr.

6. 63 – Eddie Gibbs

Tennessee Pure Stock Division:

1. 19 – Matt Adams

2. 43 – Jason Plunkett, Jr.

3. 33 – Jerry Hendrixson, Jr.

4. 43 – Jason Plunkett, Sr.

Mini Modified Division:

1. 9 – Tommy Robinette

2. 85 – Jeremy Davis

3. 31 – Kevin Harrison

4. 61 – Jerry Mills

5. 121 – Jason Loveday

6. 5 – Doug Emerson

7. 29 – Lance Campbell

Pro Buzz Division:

1. 84 – Floyd Brown

2. 92 – Brandon Thornton

3. 192 – Shane Jones

4. 16 – Austin Thornton

5. 48 – Matthew Robbins

Super Stock Division:

1. 21 – David Dean, Jr.

2. 27 – Guile Hornbuckle

3. 29 – Junior Jordan

4. 14 – Caleb Thornberry

5. 72 – Butch Rogers

Hot Shot Division:

1. 01 – Josh Mac

2. 45 – Tommy Rigsby

3. 46 – Jamie Bradford

4. 15 – Allen Gunter

5. 13 – Paul Frazier

6. 71 – Joshua Rose